How Many States Start with the Letter N?



It may seem like a simple question, but the answer is actually quite complex. In this blog post, we will explore how many states start with the letter n.

How Many States Start with the Letter N

By doing so, you will have a better understanding of the geography of the United States and be able to answer questions such as “What state is north of Ohio?” or “What state has the most lakes?”

North Carolina

North Carolina is the ninth state to be admitted to the United States. It was first explored by Europeans in 1584 and was named for King Charles I of England.

The state has a population of over 10 million people and an area of nearly 100,000 square miles. North Carolina is known for its mountains, beaches, and history. The state capital is Raleigh, and the largest city is Charlotte.

New Hampshire

There are only nine states in the United States that start with the letter “n” – New Hampshire, North Carolina, Nevada, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Tennessee.


There are only 11 states that start with the letter “n”, of which Nevada is one. All of the other states have different letters at the beginning of their name.


Oklahoma is the 32nd state to join the Union. It was admitted as the 29th state on November 16, 1907. The name “Oklahoma” is derived from the Choctaw words Okla and humma, meaning “red people.”


Oregon is the only state that starts with the letter n.

South Dakota

In the Western United States, only two states start with the letter “n”: Nevada and North Dakota. South Dakota is the last state in the region and is also home to Mount Rushmore National Monument.

The state’s nickname is “The White Hat State,” due to its tradition of awarding college scholarships to students who graduate from high school in full white dress uniforms.


There are Ten States that Start with the Letter “N” including

North Carolina, Nevada, New Hampshire, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington.

How many states start with the letter n

There are 36 states in the United States that start with the letter “n”.

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma


What is the answer to this question? There are 36 states that start with the letter N, and here they are: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii*, Idaho*, Illinois*, Indiana*, Iowa*, Kansas** Kentucky** Louisiana* Maine*, Maryland*** Massachusetts*** Michigan**** Minnesota**** Mississippi***** Missouri***** Montana**** Nebraska*** Nevada*** New Hampshire**** New Jersey***** New Mexico*** New York **** North Carolina* North Dakota* Ohio***** Oklahoma**** Oregon***** Pennsylvania *** Rhode Island *** South Carolina *South Dakota* Tennessee**** Texas***** Utah***** Vermont*** Virginia **** West Virginia **** Wisconsin******** Wyoming

See also  How to Fake a Fever?

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button